logo
logo

Ritual Play and Roy Hart Voice Work in Kleve – feat. Zwaantje de Vries

Event Details

  • Von: 2. October 2019
  • Bis: 6. October 2019
  • ab: 19:00 Uhr
  • bis: 14:00 Uhr

Address

  • Theater im Fluss
  • Germany
  • https://theaterimfluss.de/

“The loving, open minded man plays without a reason and enjoys his life because he is joy. He imitates the dance of the birds and stretches his wings like they do. He is fulfilled with the spirit of the winds, the floating water, the warming fire and the nourishing earth.” [after Kabir]

This kind of play is the foundation of “physical theatre”: playing not for the sake of performance but rather to engage all aspects of self, our entire being.

In playful encounters we find ourselves in the flow of breath, voice and movement. It requires letting go, surrendering joyfully to the spontaneous embodiment and expression of our impulses. These become the source of inspiration: everything is valid, nothing is incidental; the duality of right versus wrong no longer applies.

Even resistance is considered less a barrier and more a way to access new possibilities. The whole world of emotions, dreams and fantasies is integral to ritual play and manifests as a source of constantly emerging shapes: one minute we are human, the next an animal or a plant or simply air, water or fire. In group improvisation, through body and voice, rhythm and space, we discover ‘archetypal’ images: prototypes of the soul or contents of the ‘collective unconsciousness’ (ref. C.G. Jung)

Ritual play is a special form of physical theatre without audience: everybody is performing at the same time. After an intensive body work and a series of exercises focused on awareness, encounter, and improvisation, the players gradually enter into a daydream-like state, which many of us haven’t experienced since childhood.

The roots of ritual play derive from a combination of the research and work of Jerzy Grotowski, Living Theatre, and, Off-Off-Broadway . It is for actors and dancers who seek to extend their expressive capacity, who are searching for a deeper understanding of a text, a theme or a myth, and indeed for anybody who is fascinated by the wildness and aliveness of free play and experiencing a deep submersion into something bigger than self. Ritual play taps a profound spiritual dimension.

 

What is Roy Hart Voice Work?

“The voice is the muscle of the soul” (Alfred Wolfsohn)

The voice work after Roy Hart is very much related to ritual play. Developed in parallel during the 60s and 70s, the approaches converge in the belief and experience that body, soul (the inner being), and voice are closely connected and demand expression and liberation.

This week long intensive is the first attempt to bring both approaches together in a workshop. What will come out of it is still uncertain, so let’s stay curious!

Further Information on Roy Hart Voice Voice Work

 

Zwaantje de Vries lives in Nijmegen (Netherlands)

Zwaantje studied theatre and dance at the Theaterschule Amsterdam HKA and fine arts at the renowned Rietveld Kunstakademie. For over 20 years she directed her own centre for dance and theatre Am Kanal in Hannover. She has collaborated with the Eisfabrik, the Theaterwerkstatt, Kampnagel Hamburg, and the Universities of Hanover and Hildesheim. She lectures at the Arnhem Artez Art Academy in Nijmegen, at the De Trap theatre school in Amsterdam, and she teaches at the Centre Artistique International Roy Hart in France. Zwaantje is co-founder of Pré-Poéten. a trio for improvised soundscapes, instruments, voices, words, and poetry. She sings in the renowned improvisational Genetic Choir in Amsterdam.

Zwaantje as well is a recognized teacher of Roy Hart voice work and performs solo and in interdisciplinary team projects in Amsterdam, Paris, and Berlin.

2018_10_sf_frauenwerk_deine_stimme_tanzt

 

Location Theater im Fluss, Kleve, Ackerstraße 50-56

Schedule Wednesday 19.00-21.30 Uhr, Thursday to Saturday 9.30-17.00 (lunch pause incl.) ansd Sunday 09.30-15.00 Uhr (lunch pause incl.)

Charge 250-390 Euro (decide yourself what you can give acc. to your income)

Accomodation

  • in pensions and hotels close by from 30,-/night, see booking.com (pleass book soon, many places are already occupied)
  • Airnbnb (from 25,-/night)

or in the rooms of the theatre on the floor (bring sleeping mats, 5 places max.)

logo
logo

Rituelles Spiel und Roy Hart Voice Work in Kleve – feat. Zwaantje de Vries

Eventdetails

  • Von: 2. October 2019
  • Bis: 6. October 2019
  • ab: 19:00 Uhr
  • bis: 14:00 Uhr

Adresse

  • Theater im Fluss
  • Germany
  • https://theaterimfluss.de/

„Der liebende, offene Mensch spielt ohne Grund, er freut sich weil er Freude ist. Er ahmt den Tanz der Vögel nach und spannt wie sie seine Flügel auf. Er ist erfüllt vom Geist des Windes, des strömenden Wassers, des wärmenden Feuers, der nährenden Erde“ [frei nach Kabir].

Um diese Art von Spiel geht es auch im rituellen Spiel: Nicht die Aneignung von Techniken stehen hier im Vordergrund, sondern das Freilegen der eigenen Impulse und Potentiale in Verbindung mit der Gruppe. Alles gilt, nichts ist nebensächlich, die Dualität von „richtig“ oder „falsch“ ist außer Kraft gesetzt.

Als Grundlage der Arbeit dient ein Mythos, ein Märchen oder ein dramatischer Text.

Die ganze Welt der Gefühle, Träume und Fantasien ist darin aufgehoben und zeigt sich als Quelle immer wieder neu entstehender Formen: Mal sind wir Mensch, mal Tier, mal Pflanze oder einfach Luft oder Feuer. In Gruppenimprovisationen mit Körper und Stimme, mit Rhythmus und Raum kommen wir ‚archetypischen‘ Motiven auf die Spur: Den ‚Urbildern der Seele‘ bzw. Inhalten aus dem ‚kollektiven Unbewussten‘ (nach C.G. Jung)… Nicht selten entstehen hierdurch Bilder und Zeichen von großer theatralischer Kraft und Wirksamkeit.

Rituelles Spiel ist eine besondere Form des Körpertheaters, bei der es keine Zuschauer gibt – alle spielen zur gleichen Zeit. Nach einer intensiven Körperarbeit und vielen Übungen zur Wahrnehmung, Begegnung und Improvisation kommen die SpielerInnen mehr und mehr in einen Zustand der Selbstvergessenheit, den viele seit ihrer Kindheit nicht mehr erlebt haben.

Die Wurzeln des rituellen Spiels liegen in der Arbeit von Jerzy Grotowski, dem Living Theatre und dem Off-Off-Broadway Theatre. Es eignet sich im Besonderen für SchauspielerInnen oder TänzerInnen, die ihr Ausdrucksspektrum erweitern wollen, die einem Thema, Text oder Mythos auf den Grund gehen wollen – als auch für alle anderen Menschen, die die Lebendigkeit und Wildheit des freien Spiels fasziniert und die tiefe Erfahrung des Eingebunden sein in etwas Größeres Ganzes suchen: Das rituelle Spiel hat auch eine spirituelle Dimension.

Und was ist Roy Hart Voice Work?

„Die Stimme ist der Muskel der Seele“ (Alfred Wolfsohn)

Die Stimmarbeit nach Roy Hart ist dem Rituellen Spiel verwandt. Auch wenn sich beide Ansätze in etwa der gleichen Zeit (den 60er und 70er Jahren) parallel voneinander entwickelt haben, eint sie doch der Glauben und die Erfahrung, daß Körper, Seele (bzw. unser Inneres) und Stimme eng miteinander verbunden sind und nach Ausdruck und Befreiung verlangen.

In dieser Blockwoche wird zum ersten Mal versucht, beide Ansätze zusammenzubringen. Was dabei herauskommen wird ist noch ungewiß, man darf aber sehr darauf gespannt sein.

Weitere Infos zur Roy Hart Voice Voice Work

Zwaantje de Vries lebt in Nijmegen (Niederlande)

Sie studierte Theater und Dansexpressie u.a. an der Theaterschule Amsterdam HKA und Kunst an der renommierten Rietveld Kunstakademie. Sie leitete über 20 Jahre in Hannover ihr eigenes Zentrum für Tanz und Theater „Am Kanal“. Kooperationen mit der Eisfabrik, der Theaterwerkstatt, Kampnagel Hamburg, den Universitäten Hannover und Hildesheim. In Nijmegen ist sie u.a. Gastdozentin an der Kunstakademie Arnhem Artez. In Frankreich unterrichtet sie am Roy Hart Theatre, Cevennes Frankreich und ist Dozentin für Stimme an der Theaterschule ‚De Trap‘ in Amsterdam. Sie ist Mitgründerin von „Pré-Poéten“ (Trio for improvised soundscapes, instruments and voices, words and poetry) und singt im bekannten ‚Genetic Choir‘ in Amsterdam, ein Chor für Instant Compositions.
Sie ist anerkannte Dozentin der Roy Hart Stimmarbeit (Einzel- und Gruppenunterricht)  und Performerin in Solo-Stücken sowie in interdisziplinären Team-Projekten. (Amsterdam, Paris, Berlin)

2018_10_sf_frauenwerk_deine_stimme_tanzt

Ort Theater im Fluss, Kleve, Ackerstraße 50-56

Zeiten Mittwoch 19.00-21.30 Uhr, Donnerstag bis Samstag 9.30-17.00 (inkl. Mittagspause) und Sonntag 09.30-15.00 Uhr (inkl. Mittagspause)

TN-Beitrag 250-390 Euro (nach Selbsteinschätzung)

Unterkunft

  • in angrenzenden Pensionen und Hotels ab 30,-/Nacht über booking.com (bald buchen, es ist schon vieles belegt!)
  • Airnbnb (ab 25,-/Nacht)

oder in den Räumen des Theaters auf Isomatten, gegen Spende (max. 5 Plätze)